Why Do I Need a Wedding Planner, When I’ve Got a Coordinator at My Venue?

Hey Y’all!

It was 9:30 on Wednesday night and I was chatting with my good friend and fellow wedding planner Renee. I don’t remember exactly what we were talking about (it could have been fonts, or flowers, or wedding food) but suddenly, our conversation went from wedding pretties to full on crisis mode. She had received a panicked email from one of her brides…the coordinator at her wedding venue had just quit. Her wedding was in less than a month!

Let’s backtrack for a second. Chances are, the coordinator at your venue was one of the first people that you discussed your wedding details with. I’m not just talking about your wedding colors, but those nitty-gritty little details. Were you going to have lemons or cucumbers in the water when your guests arrive? Would there be 4 or 5 votives on your cocktail hour tables? This person is your rock! They probably played a large part in your decision to book the venue. You trusted them.

And now, they’re gone. Unfortunately, this isn’t an isolated incident. It happens. In fact, it happened to me…

4 months before my wedding, I received an email from my venue telling me that my coordinator was no longer working for them. Hysteria ensued!

Who would they replace her with? Would I like her? Would she be competent?

And, what about all of the things that my coordinator had promised me that we hadn’t written down!

I can’t get married without her!

I can’t imagine what was going through my husband’s head, trapped in a car with me on a 2 hour long road trip as I bawled my eyes out. Luckily, he loves me, because let me tell you, it was not a pretty day.

The minute the we got home, I busted out my legal pad, reviewed my notes,and proceeded to create three pages worth of bullet points, detailing every single thing that I had discussed with the old coordinator. Then again, I’m the crazy person that brought a legal pad to every meeting. That’s also why I became a planner.

Everything turned out to be ok. I received most of the things that I was promised, and realized that some I would just have to let go. My new coordinator was sweet, nice, and thoughtful. But, in the heat of the moment, all that I knew was that I did not want to have to explain my entire wedding to someone with only 4 months until my big day.

The moral of the story is this: When you hire a wedding planner, she becomes your point of contact. She keeps track of every little detail for you. She is your rock. The best part about that is, she’s not going anywhere. So, whether your contact at the rental company moves to another state, or your florist’s assistant (who you spent hours discussing blush vs peach with) leaves to open her own shop, you can rest assured that everything’s under control.

And, as an added bonus, your fiancee can miss out on watching your ugly cry for hours, and hours…and hours. He should thank you.

xoxo,

Lindsay

 

P.S. I thought that I had it bad, but check out Renee’s story about how she found out that her venue was sold to another company! Yikes!

 


Leave a comment