Mad About Mod

Hey Y’all!

One of my favorite things about this inspiration board challenge has been pushing myself to be inspired by things that aren’t normally “me”. This was definitely one of those weeks…just thinking about creating a wedding around the Mad Men tv series had me stumped. I’d never even watched the show! Luckily, my good friend Renee (of Moxie Bright Events in LA) filled me in. “Oh it’s fantastic! It’s mid century modern. Everyone wears pencil skirts and tops, and the men wear impeccable suits. Everyone smokes. Everyone drinks whiskey.” While this all sounds fabulous, she might as well have been speaking Japanese. Well other than the whiskey part.

As usual, I went straight for my handy dandy friend Pintrest. I looked up Mad Men weddings…and got slew of brides in tea-length dresses, and one David Tutera wedding with bridesmaids in mustard. Don’t get me wrong, I adore David, but mustard, not so much. I typed in mod weddings…and got a whole bunch of crazy colors. My head was about to explode, so I did what any pink flower worshiper would do…
Sampleboard-MadMenWedding

I decided to go retro garden! If any of you are Mad Men addicts, Renee says that this is Betty and Don’s wedding, when they were happy. Robin’s egg blue just screams 60’s to me, and gold accents add a little glam. I’m completely obsessed with the pink radio centerpiece, and the gold sunburst would make the perfect sweetheart table backdrop! And what better way to inundate your guests with whiskey than a totally mod bar cart?

But, my favorite part of this board has to be the bridesmaid. That pin! Those pearls! My husband says that it reminds him of The Help (don’t judge, he makes me watch my fair share of man-shows), and that just makes me happy.

So, what started out as, “Huh?”, actually turned out to be one of my favorite weeks yet. Now, I’m just dying to plan a Mad Men wedding!

xoxo,

Lindsay

photo credits: invitation suite from Green Wedding Shoes photographed by Braedon Flynn // bride from Wedding Chicks photographed by Raw Photo Design // bouquet from 100 Layer Cake created by Honey and Poppies photographed by Steve Cowell // groom from College Fashion // vintage car from Ruffled photographed by  Ever Whim Photographs // bar cart from Target // tablescape from 100 Layer Cake designed by Jesi Haack // bridesmaid from Ruffled // cake from Wedding Chicks created by Hey There, Cupcake!

One thought on “Mad About Mod

Leave a Reply

