I Challenge You to a Duel!

Hey Y’all!

In case you’ve been as busy as I have and haven’t noticed, I’ve been away for awhile. Between this unbearable summer heat and a never-ending list of home improvement projects, getting in the writing groove has been tough these past few weeks! I was in search of inspiration when I thought of the perfect solution.

A CHALLENGE! I would create inspiration boards for the blog! Every week would be a different theme, forcing me to get outside of my normal dahlia box (although I won’t promise that you won’t be seeing any dahlias) and get creative. But you can’t do a challenge alone…

Let’s backtrack a bit. In February, I was fortunate enough to attend the incredible Refine Workshop in San Diego. I gained an amazing amount of wedding planning knowledge. One of the best takeaways, however, were the friendships that I made with other planners all across the country. These girls have been a great source of information, inspiration, and positive reinforcement. Who better to challenge to an inspiration board duel?

The logistics:

We each chose 3 themes. Trendy, avant garde, romantic…they run the gamut. The themes went into a bowl, and every week is a surprise. Each Wednesday, you can look forward to seeing my interpretation of a different theme, and I’ll also be posting inspiration boards from my fellow planners that you can check out!

On that note, time for me to introduce the first theme of the challenge:

Steampunk

If you’re scratching your head, don’t worry. You’re not alone. I had to do some serious research to get a grasp on this theme. Wikipedia defines Steampunk as ” a sub-genre of science fiction that typically features steam-powered machinery,[1] especially in a setting inspired by industrialized Western civilization during the 19th century.” Steampunk is dark. I’m not a big fan of dark when it comes to weddings, so I made it my personal goal to insert some romance. Here goes!!

SteampunkRomance

 

Here are some of the other interpretations:

Renee Scotti Dalo of Moxie Bright Events, Los Angeles
Renee Scotti Dalo of Moxie Bright Events, Los Angeles
Meg Cameron of Alison Howard Events, San Diego
Meg Cameron of Alison Howard Events, San Diego
Cheryl Sullivan of Cheryl Sullivan Events, West Virginia
Cheryl Sullivan of Cheryl Sullivan Events, West Virginia
Beky Balboa of Balboa Weddings & Events, Riverside CA
Beky Balboa of Balboa Weddings & Events, Riverside CA
Gracielo Rosario of Graceful Event Planning, Boston
Gracielo Rosario of Graceful Event Planning, Boston

What do y’all think, would you have a Steampunk wedding? If it’s not your cup of tea, don’t worry, because next week’s theme is near and dear to my heart: Farm to Table. I can’t wait to spend the next couple of months sharing some fun themes with you, and hopefully the Refine Graduates can inspire you to think outside of the box when it comes to your own wedding!

 

xoxo,

Lindsay

P.S. Have a theme that you’d love to see us dream about? Give me a shout!

One thought on “I Challenge You to a Duel!

Leave a Reply

